top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturepredlonelee

Critical Reflection

My take as an audience for the CPD showcase was that every presenting group was so amazing! Nevertheless, I would like to highlight a particular group that really capture my attention – SOLVER. Their topic on “How to Handle and Manage Difficult Customers in a Full-Service Restaurant.” was very relatable for me as I used to work in various F&B establishments. In addition, it is also a prevalent topic for hospitality students as most of them would be likely to encounter such situations in the future.


The solution they offered was very interesting, as it was an easy acronym to remember. I like that they incorporated both nonverbal communication (SOL) and verbal communication (VER) solutions for their audience to learn better on effective communication. The solution tackles on many issues of the front-line service staff which I feel could also be implemented in other industry, so it is a rather versatile.


With regards to their performance, the slides were easy to read off, concise and coherent. The group also displayed confidence by using a loud and clear projection across the lecture hall along with good body posture and eye contact throughout the presentation. However, I felt that Jonathan could have done much better if he were to eliminate the uses of filler words like “ehm” and Shiqi could have slow down a bit more on her part as she sounded a little rush.


Overall, I feel that this proposal would be very likely to succeed if introduced to the industry with their remarkable presentation. Likewise, I also proud of all the presenting groups with their performance.


Finally, I would like to mention that CPD class have benefited me more than I have expected. Many thanks to Brad for his guidance and I also hope that all my readers will have a great rest this holiday before IWSP.

9 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All

Communicating with Tact in Hospitality Industry II

1.0 Introduction Communicating with tact and diplomacy is critical to success for business (Soden, 2017). In today’s context, the value of communication skills is recognized in the professional workpl

Communicating with Tact in Hospitality Industry

Literature review Communicating with tact and diplomacy is critical to success for business (Soden, 2017). In today’s context, the value of communication skills is recognized in the professional workp

bottom of page